Meditation Event w EnlightenNext

December 6, 2012 — Leave a comment

This is an event I am most likely to attend. Jeff is very good and if you feel drawn to it, I recommend it.

Philosophy Is Not A Luxury

closed-eyeMany of my most profound spiritual awakenings have come to me through the practice of meditation. And although I haven’t written about that topic on this blog, I do see it as a spiritual discipline that is central to philosophy in that at its core the practice of meditation involves making direct contact with reality. I wanted to write a blog post on the topic this week because I am preparing for an upcoming virtual retreat that I will be leading on December 16.

Meditation is a time-honored spiritual discipline practiced in both the Judeo-Christian traditions of the West and the Buddhist and Hindu traditions of the East.

As I have learned it, the ultimate aim of the practice is to make direct contact with reality as it is. The ultimate prize to be won is an unadorned experience of the real. A direct encounter with reality in this way…

View original post 708 more words

No Comments

Be the first to start the conversation!

Leave a Reply

